outdated 1.7.3 rec only | How to REALLY format /data

Recovery for the Acer A500/A501

Re: AW: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corru

Postby xvs1100 » 12 Dec 2012, 23:18

1quickshortbus wrote:Another option if you get an error when formatting as described above is to start your tablet with the screen lock switched to lock, hold Vol Up + Power and as soon as the tablet vibrates start switching the screen lock back and forth this will cause it to format the data partition and this ALWAYS works for me.

Thank you very much for that hint, it saved my tablet! That was the only way to get it running again!


Gesendet von meinem Iconia A500 mit Tapatalk 2
User avatar
xvs1100
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 21 Feb 2012, 09:06
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby appple » 15 Dec 2012, 12:20

Wermut wrote:I'm also experiencing problems mounting anything and need to format the data. I'm using the power, vol+ and rotate lock method but it boots straight into the Scrilax bootloader V8 screen every time. Thoughts?


I got the same, need help. thanks
User avatar
appple
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 Oct 2012, 06:14
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby appple » 15 Dec 2012, 12:22

ciul90 wrote:I have tried to follow the steps from first post, but it does not work me. It gives
Code: Select all
Backup and Restore /data/media: Enabled
E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log
Formatting /data...
E:format_volume: make_extf4fs failed on /dev/block/mmcblk0p8
Error formating /data!


Any ideas how to get over this problem?


Yes, I get this one also. Can someone please help?
User avatar
appple
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 Oct 2012, 06:14
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby antti » 19 Dec 2012, 11:28

hello

I have a similar problem, I have found why wiping /data is impossible for me:
there is an i/o error when trying to delete /data/system/locksettings.db (from recovery, thor 1.7.3, /data wiping is skipped due to this file)

under ADB i tried:
cd /data/system
root@android:/data/system # ls
ls
ls: ./locksettings.db: Input/output error

anyone has a solution to make this file valid again ?
I also tried chmod, unsuccessfully .....

i saw somewhere that a solution would be
adb shell
format DATA:
format SYSTEM:
format CACHE:

but format is not a recognized command when I try it from adb shell:

root@android:/ # format DATA:
format DATA:
sh: format: not found
127|root@android:/ #

HELP! Thank You

SOLVED
reinstalled recovery 1.73 + installing JB v20: i had the option to change the lock options -> reboot to recovery, wipe all is now OK !
Last edited by antti on 19 Dec 2012, 12:47, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
antti
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Jul 2012, 08:55
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby gerzel » 19 Dec 2012, 12:35

Antti, you have Linux system and you haven't 'DATA:' and other. You have '/data', '/system' and other. Also command 'fdisk', not 'format'.
User avatar
gerzel
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 23 Dec 2011, 15:52
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby gerardpuducul » 20 Dec 2012, 16:25

HI all,

I try to format my partition using this tricks but failed :
CMW said to me OK but nothing is done

Code: Select all
I:Checking for extendedcommand...
I:Skipping execution of extendedcommand, file not found...
Backup and Restore /data/media: Enabled
Formatting /system...
Creating filesystem with parameters:
    Size: 629145600
    Block size: 4096
    Blocks per group: 32768
    Inodes per group: 7680
    Inode size: 256
    Journal blocks: 2400
    Label:
    Blocks: 153600
    Block groups: 5
    Reserved block group size: 39
Created filesystem with 11/38400 inodes and 4936/153600 blocks
warning: wipe_block_device: Discard failed

Done.
Formatting /data...
Creating filesystem with parameters:
    Size: 13870563328
    Block size: 4096
    Blocks per group: 32768
    Inodes per group: 8144
    Inode size: 256
    Journal blocks: 32768
    Label:
    Blocks: 3386368
    Block groups: 104
    Reserved block group size: 831
Created filesystem with 11/846976 inodes and 94245/3386368 blocks
warning: wipe_block_device: Discard failed

Done.
Formatting /cache...
Creating filesystem with parameters:
    Size: 1283457024
    Block size: 4096
    Blocks per group: 32768
    Inodes per group: 7840
    Inode size: 256
    Journal blocks: 4896
    Label:
    Blocks: 313344
    Block groups: 10
    Reserved block group size: 79
Created filesystem with 11/78400 inodes and 10305/313344 blocks
warning: wipe_block_device: Discard failed


I have always warning: wipe_block_device: Discard failed! Is it normal?

Thanks
User avatar
gerardpuducul
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 05 Nov 2012, 14:10
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby mrmofoman » 25 Dec 2012, 18:49

Merry Christmas all,

I am having similar problems to others in this thread trying to mount /data for a format.

I have tried thor's suggested method but i get the same error

Backup and Restore /data/media: Enabled
E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log
Formatting /data...
E:format_volume: make_extf4fs failed on /dev/block/mmcblk0p8
Error formating /data!

I keep trying the lockscrean rotation toggle method but keep ending up oin the bootloader?????

I have accsess to recovery and bootloader with fastboot

is there a way to check my partitions and to format them thusly? does anbyone have the partition tables?


Festivities to all!



Hugo
User avatar
mrmofoman
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Dec 2012, 13:54
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby prof2 » 26 Mar 2013, 04:34

meduza wrote:The reboots and freezes become so annoying that I decided to reformat the data/media partition (taggle backup of data/media in recovery) reflashed the ROM did even once more hard reset after reinstalling AND everything is o.k. again :-)
No reboots or freezes so far :-)
m.


I owe you so big meduza...you helped me realize why I couldn't get my data/media partition to format just now, and I NEEDED it to. Tablet crash yesterday, and whatever left behind, I believe, may have been stopping one of my kid's apps from reinstalling correctly. When I read the above, I realized I had data/media toggled "off / disabled." THANK YOU! :D
User avatar
prof2
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 34
Joined: 26 Sep 2012, 19:07
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby ffixcollector » 30 Apr 2013, 06:38

I am experiencing a problem erasing /data/data/com.android.browser/databases/webview.db-shm
i saw this same type of error in another post and it referred to this post. But when i try the above method i get another eror.
E:format_volume failed to unmount "/data"
can someone please help me i fear i have broken my tablet ='(


I am having the same problem, I am unable to unmount or format data! Are there any fixes for this!?
User avatar
ffixcollector
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Apr 2013, 23:56
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby thor2002ro » 30 Apr 2013, 08:50

you need to format the internal memory as it says in the first post...
_________________________
Dropbox! So useful for sharing files among multiple computers and ANDROID Phone get 2.30GB storage -> LINK

++++++++++++
Samsung Galaxy Note - Drowned

Samsung Galaxy Note 2 - Sold

Oppo R5s - Sold

LG V10 :)

Acer ICONIA A500 TAB WIFI Only
FW: Tegraowners 6.0 internal ROM
Recovery: touch recovery 2.0b

Asus Google Nexus 7 Wifi
FW: Tegraowners JB-MR2 ROM
++++++++++++
If I did something you liked HIT rep + button (: and Image $Image to BEER FUND
User avatar
thor2002ro
Global moderator / Dev Team
 
Posts: 10042
Joined: 14 Aug 2011, 23:31
Location: 127.0.0.1
Reputation point: 594
Junior OwnerJunior OwnerJunior OwnerJunior OwnerJunior OwnerJunior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby ffixcollector » 30 Apr 2013, 16:34

Thank you for your reply, I gave up for 15 minutes, then tried it again. It unmounted, and then I was able to format! :D I restored a nandroid backup. Thanks again for your work on the A500 Thor.
User avatar
ffixcollector
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Apr 2013, 23:56
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby thor2002ro » 30 Apr 2013, 17:22

glad you solved it
_________________________
Dropbox! So useful for sharing files among multiple computers and ANDROID Phone get 2.30GB storage -> LINK

++++++++++++
Samsung Galaxy Note - Drowned

Samsung Galaxy Note 2 - Sold

Oppo R5s - Sold

LG V10 :)

Acer ICONIA A500 TAB WIFI Only
FW: Tegraowners 6.0 internal ROM
Recovery: touch recovery 2.0b

Asus Google Nexus 7 Wifi
FW: Tegraowners JB-MR2 ROM
++++++++++++
If I did something you liked HIT rep + button (: and Image $Image to BEER FUND
User avatar
thor2002ro
Global moderator / Dev Team
 
Posts: 10042
Joined: 14 Aug 2011, 23:31
Location: 127.0.0.1
Reputation point: 594
Junior OwnerJunior OwnerJunior OwnerJunior OwnerJunior OwnerJunior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby Opus00 » 04 May 2013, 21:52

Hi
I'm have the same problem as some of the above:
Backup and Restore /data/media: Enabled
E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log
Formatting /data...
E:format_volume: make_extf4fs failed on /dev/block/mmcblk0p8
Error formating /data!

and the same for /cache (mmcblk0p4)

I don't know the background for the others, but my A500 got stuck in APX mode after installing Tegraowners_JB-MR1_ROM_v11t4.zip on V8 bootloader and Thors 1.7.3 recovery.
The only way to get it back was to use the russian 'Babsector' fix as I couldn't get any of the 'normal' bootloader/recovery procedures to work (A500APXflash, nvflash, EUUS ect.) I tried the first .bat file in the babsector.rar archive (a501 A.bat):
Code: Select all
@echo off
echo    ****************************************************************
echo    *   Before executing, be sure to delete recovery-from-boot.p   *
echo    *          from /system to ensure recovery will stick          *
echo    ****************************************************************
echo.
echo    ****************************************
echo    *   Reboot your tablet into APX mode   *
echo    ****************************************
echo.
echo Generate your SBK with your CPUID from here :
echo http://vache-android.com/v1/index.php?site=sbk
echo.
SET /P MYSBK=Enter your SBK:

nvflash --bct flash.bct --setbct --configfile flash1.cfg --create --odmdata 0xb00d8011 --bl bootloader.bin --sbk %MYSBK% --go


pause

The flash1.cfg it refers to:
Code: Select all
[device]
type=hsmmc
instance=3

[partition]
name=BCT
id=2
type=boot_config_table
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=basic
size=4096
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0

[partition]
name=PT
id=3
type=partition_table
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=basic
size=4096
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0

[partition]
name=APP
id=8
type=data
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=basic
size=8388608
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0

[partition]
name=EBT
id=4
type=bootloader
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=basic
size=4194304
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0
filename=bootloader_v8_green.bin

[partition]
name=GP1
id=5
type=GP1
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=basic
size=1048576
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0

[partition]
name=SOS
id=6
type=data
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=basic
size=5242880
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0
filename=recovery.img

[partition]
name=LNX
id=7
type=data
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=basic
size=8388608
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0

[partition]
name=CAC
id=9
type=data
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=ext3
size=1283457024
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0

[partition]
name=MSC
id=10
type=data
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=ext3
size=4194304
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0

[partition]
name=FLX
id=11
type=data
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=basic
size=104857600
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0

[partition]
name=AKB
id=12
type=data
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=basic
size=10485760
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0

[partition]
name=UDA
id=13
type=data
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=ext3
size=18432
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=0x808
percent_reserved=0

[partition]
name=GPT
id=14
type=GPT
allocation_policy=sequential
filesystem_type=basic
size=0xFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF
file_system_attribute=0
partition_attribute=0
allocation_attribute=8
percent_reserved=0


Any suggestions as how to solve this is greatly appreciated!
User avatar
Opus00
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 27 Jan 2012, 17:16
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby freightyard » 04 May 2013, 22:44

read the readme in babsector you need to do batA then recovery and format (data I think - it's in the read me file) then batB
then boot to recovery power/volume-
and then reinstall rom gapps
User avatar
freightyard
Testers Group
 
Posts: 2676
Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 17:29
Reputation point: 163
Junior OwnerJunior Owner

Re: How to REALLY format data partition if it gets corrupted

Postby Opus00 » 05 May 2013, 00:26

There was no readme in the archive I downloaded... Do you have a copy of it?
User avatar
Opus00
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 27 Jan 2012, 17:16
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

PreviousNext

Return to Acer A500/A501 Recovery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

x

#{title}

#{text}