At a loss here....

Recovery for the Acer A500/A501

At a loss here....

Postby mindfloss420 » 21 Jan 2016, 21:37

I have tried everything to try and get my a500 working again. Every type of wipe, tried to flash new ROMS, nothing.....
When it boots it sometimes hangs on this wierd split screen of blue and yellow, sometimes it goes to the "iconia tab" screen, stutters and stalls....
when i try and flash a new ROM it goes to:
starting AROMA INSTALLER version 2.00

then just hangs...no matter what ROM...
So is it safe to say that this tablet is done?
is there any option left?
any help would be appreciated
User avatar
mindfloss420
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Jan 2016, 06:46
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: At a loss here....

Postby freightyard » 21 Jan 2016, 21:52

mindfloss420 » 21 Jan 2016, 15:37 wrote:I have tried everything to try and get my a500 working again. Every type of wipe, tried to flash new ROMS, nothing.....
When it boots it sometimes hangs on this wierd split screen of blue and yellow, sometimes it goes to the "iconia tab" screen, stutters and stalls....
when i try and flash a new ROM it goes to:
starting AROMA INSTALLER version 2.00

then just hangs...no matter what ROM...
So is it safe to say that this tablet is done?
is there any option left?
any help would be appreciated

what recovery and bootloader is on it
and do you have the cpuid ?
User avatar
freightyard
Testers Group
 
Posts: 2676
Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 17:29
Reputation point: 163
Junior OwnerJunior Owner

Re: At a loss here....

Postby mindfloss420 » 21 Jan 2016, 23:05

hi thx for helping
i just flashed the tegraowners recovery rev2.0b4 Iconia A50x (TWRP v 2.8.0.0)
also just flashed [EPIC WIP]CM12.1 5.1.1 A500/A501 - V6

i made some progression since the OP. it flashed the ROM and GAPPS fine with no errors, now it seems to be boot looping between the Acer screen and the tegraowners kernel.com screen
It also gave an error in the recovery
e: unable to mount /boot2
is this the main boot partition? if so how do i fix this?
User avatar
mindfloss420
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Jan 2016, 06:46
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: At a loss here....

Postby freightyard » 22 Jan 2016, 00:38

mindfloss420 » 21 Jan 2016, 17:05 wrote:hi thx for helping
i just flashed the tegraowners recovery rev2.0b4 Iconia A50x (TWRP v 2.8.0.0)
also just flashed [EPIC WIP]CM12.1 5.1.1 A500/A501 - V6

i made some progression since the OP. it flashed the ROM and GAPPS fine with no errors, now it seems to be boot looping between the Acer screen and the tegraowners kernel.com screen
It also gave an error in the recovery
e: unable to mount /boot2
is this the main boot partition? if so how do i fix this?

boot2 error is nothing - it's not used on a single android install
install skrilax_cz bootloader from linux forum
in recovery
select wipe ->format data -. type yes
then format data and cache partitions to f2fs - use the search at the top for instructions on how to do that
then install rom and gapps
that is a clean install
User avatar
freightyard
Testers Group
 
Posts: 2676
Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 17:29
Reputation point: 163
Junior OwnerJunior Owner

Re: At a loss here....

Postby mindfloss420 » 22 Jan 2016, 08:40

formatted the data and cache partition to f2fs, now it says im not rooted anymore. Tried to flash SU via recovery, still says im not rooted, then in the menuit says it appears you are not rooted would you like to root now, i say yes but it never installs anything, only reboots the tablet
User avatar
mindfloss420
Junior Owner
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 21 Jan 2016, 06:46
Reputation point: 0
Junior Owner

Re: At a loss here....

Postby freightyard » 22 Jan 2016, 16:28

mindfloss420 » 22 Jan 2016, 02:40 wrote:formatted the data and cache partition to f2fs, now it says im not rooted anymore. Tried to flash SU via recovery, still says im not rooted, then in the menuit says it appears you are not rooted would you like to root now, i say yes but it never installs anything, only reboots the tablet

sounds to me that it was never rooted
did you install a rom and gapps after formatting to f2fs
what rom
what superuser did you try to flash
you need your cpuid as already mentioned - do you have it ?
User avatar
freightyard
Testers Group
 
Posts: 2676
Joined: 30 Jan 2012, 17:29
Reputation point: 163
Junior OwnerJunior Owner


Return to Acer A500/A501 Recovery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

x

#{title}

#{text}